A Colorful Rainbow Hop … Extravagant Orange

“May flowers always line your path and sunshine light your day. May songbirds serenade you every step along the way. May a rainbow run beside you in a sky that’s always blue. And may happiness fill your heart each day your whole life through.” Irish Blessing

What a beautiful blessing on this St. Patty’s Day. And what a fun idea, a rainbow art hop. I received a sweet little package chock full of orange goodies, all of which will appear in my Extravagant Orange series. The fun begins today, as the Laura Kelly Rainbow Hop commences.

Extravagant Orange… so many inspirational ways to go with this bright and happy color. Laura’s artistic style lends itself to childlike images, juvenile delight conveyed in stick figures and smiling faces.

My style lends itself to a dusky orange found in Mexican pottery, the exotic patterns adorned with sequins of the saris of India, the hippie chic of embroidery, and the fashionista ways to add a pop of color to an outfit. Oh, which way to go?

That’s where the idea for a series came in. Ten (10) Extravagant ways to showcase the extravagance of orange.

The project I chose for the Rainbow Hop is a floral monogram. A fun, three dimensional way to bring some sunny spring orange inside. A “W” that Laura will love.

Gather up: wood letter, glue gun and glue sticks, silk flowers, coordinating paint, glitter

SuPpLiEs
SuPpLiEs

My package full of OrAnGe goodness included FolkArt glitter paint. The first prep step is to put a quick base coat on the wooden letter. It will show a bit, depending on the flowers you have chosen. This quick step will lend a more professional look.

FolkArt Glitter Paint
FolkArt Glitter Paint

While the paint is drying, start pulling the blooms off the stems of your flowers. Snip the attachment tip off of the base of the bloom so that it will lay flat. Start playing with the placement of the blooms, arrange and rearrange the blooms until you get a full affect that still honors the shape of the letter. I trimmed up a couple of blooms, to make them smaller, so that I would not lose the shape of the W. I also glued the top and bottom blooms to the outer side, to help visually hold the shape. The hop instructions suggested a 95% Orange project so I dabbed orange glitter paint on the sunny yellow flower heads. Glue the blooms down with hot glue.

Finished Product
Finished Product

Now for some fun! I spritzed Tulip Glitter Spray onto the flower petals. I also shook some clear glitter on top. Everything is better with glitter!

I hung my Extravagant Orange Floral Monogram on an old shutter that is hanging in my living room. I am so happy to add and change out photos. This W brightens it up.

Brightens up an old shutter!
Brightens up an old shutter!

7 thoughts on “A Colorful Rainbow Hop … Extravagant Orange

Leave a comment