Peanut Butter Fa•La•La•La FUDGE

It’s been a WOW week in the Sweetheart kitchen. Feels good. I love to cook and bake and create sweet treats.

I’m sharing this fabulous recipe that a facebook friend shared. It caught my attention because it had Easy, Peanut Butter, and Fudge in the title. What’s not to love about that!

I’m happy to report that the “easy” was correct and the ingredients are common in any cook’s kitchen. Bonus!

This recipe turned out great, especially considering the circumstances. I don’t follow the rule of “this will be funny when we look back on it”. I pretty much think things are funny right when they happen.

I like to plan well for the free time I have while the baby naps. I write a blog post, create graphics or prep dinner, answer emails or prep for an oils class. Whatever fits the day.

Today during nap time I was making a yummy chicken soup. Simple, rustic, comfort food chicken soup. My plan was to Chop-Chop-Chop the chicken and vegetables, spice it up, stir and let hum along in the crockpot for a few hours before dinner so that the ingredients marry well. Mission accomplished.

I finished up and tidied up the kitchen, then remembered the fudge recipe I wanted to test. I love new recipes and I test them out long before I need to rely on it to take it to an event. I would be cutting it close on time for the baby to wake up but couldn’t resist.

I put the milk and sugar on to boil and was in my own little fudge stirring world when the I Love Lucy moment occurred. The SMOKE ALARMS went off!

I scampered around to get the pot off the burner, and a chair over to the smoke alarm to reach to stop the blaring beep beep beep beep. Skittered down the hall to see if it woke the baby. He was stirring but still laying down snuggled up to his teddy bear. Sprinted back to my fudge, that was only supposed to boil for two and a half minutes.

I crossed my fingers that it didn’t overboil, and moved on to the next recipe step as if without a care in the world. Poured the fudge into my prepped dish and let the testing of the recipe begin.

I couldn’t help but peek at it and sample it as it was cooling off and setting up. It was setting up so well! Smoke alarms and all!

This recipe is an absolute winner for me in every way. Easy ingredients, easy prep, quick cook and delicious turnout. Enjoy!

Baking and treat making tip: use quality ingredients. I love my sweet bottle of Nielsen Massey Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract. I’m a Kentucky girl. In Kentucky, when you say bourbon it means whiskey. Not this time. The vanilla beans used for this extract are grown on the Bourbon Island of Madagascar. They use a cold extraction process, and the results are fantastic.

Peanut Butter Fudge
1/2 cup milk
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla

Bring milk and sugar to a boil. Boil 2 1/2 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter. Stir in vanilla. Mix well. Pour into a baking dish lined with wax paper. Let cool completely. Using a sharp knife, cut into squares.

IMG_1358.JPG

IMG_1356.JPG

IMG_1356-0.JPG

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Fa•La•La•La FUDGE

Leave a Reply

