Social media and real LIFE

20140131-103400.jpg

Someone recently compared me (as weaker than) to someone who frequently posts pictures of herself in the gym, lifting various measures of weights. Sweating, visibly struggling, wearing branded sportswear, lifting barbells, etc.

I don’t post pictures of myself lifting and carrying the heavy boxes of apparel and supplies for my business. I don’t post pictures of me lifting the 18 pounds of my grandson, 5 days a week, 10 hours a day. I don’t post pics of myself planking during the baby’s “tummy time”. I don’t post pics of me pushing an 8 cubic feet wheelbarrow of dirt and mulch up a hill in a garden, or carrying 5 gallon bucket after bucket of the same. In 100 degree heat. I don’t post pics of myself doing Zumba or the light weight work that I do to maintain flexibility and strength. I don’t post pics of myself shoveling and hauling buckets of rock for the firepit, or dirt for landscaping, or trimming and hauling branches and bag after bag of trimmings. I don’t post pics of myself moving furniture, carrying tables, hauling and loading countless items, countless times, over the course of countless years.

I don’t have a bunch of branded sportswear… just my old sweats and my pink Nikes and garden boots.

Here’s my two cents on that comparison of me seeming “weaker”. Real strength in real life is shaking off the comparison to others and valuing the real you, as opposed to the social media of someone else.

20140131-110343.jpg

3 thoughts on “Social media and real LIFE

Leave a Reply

