Sage ADVICE

We moved into this home a year and half ago. We moved in early August. Our backyard was in full bloom and a wonder of perennials, a lot of which I did not recognize. I began researching the plants, and how to properly prune and care for them. I had to cut back many of them, as the stems had overgrown into woody vines. There were many times I held my breath and snipped branches with hope in my heart I wasn’t killing the plant. I used internet resources as well as my gardening friends to try to get a schedule of care going.

We are so grateful to the gardener who lived here before us. I am so glad to make new discoveries as the seasons change. I am going to research the placement of perennial herbs during the winter months. I am not sure if this is companion planting, or a “find room for it” plan.

I was cleaning up around the outer edge of the landscaping and found something I recognized. Sage! We have sage! I found a little plant poking up out of the ground that was growing and looked healthy as can be. Awesome! I started researching sage, it’s history of use, etc. I am amazed at the many uses. I now feel sure that the description “sage advice” is because the herb and it’s oils are all encompassing and good for so many things. Here is a link for some general information. http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-sage.html

Pretty little sage leaves

Pretty little sage leaves

We had so much sage this summer that I was able to harvest it twice to make sage bundles. I read a lot of information on when to harvest the sage for bundling. I also read a lot of information about using sage bundles to “smudge” areas of your home to cleanse the atmosphere and when to harvest for that purpose. I’m not sure about all of that, but I do know that a thankful heart for gifts that have been given to you is a good thing. So I have a grateful heart for the sage bundles as well as the embroidery floss that I used to bundle the branches. The embroidery floss is some that my grandmother gave me and it is one of her favorite colors.

The instructions are simple. Clip the sage branches in lengths that you would like the bundles to be. Lay them in a bundle. Use a cotton material/floss/ribbon for the wrap. Wrap your tie around the bottom of the stems several times, moving in a crisscross fashion up to the top leaves and wrap them several times as you did the bottom. Hang the bundles to dry or lay them in the sun. We had a very wet summer so I moved them back and forth between the porch and the garage, on newspaper.

Lay the clippings in same-size bundles

Lay the clippings in same-size bundles

The bundles will be smaller as they dry but not significantly. I was interested to find that the embroidery floss kept them together, even after drying. One thing that I learned about sage in plant form, is that it’s oil is incredibly potent. Incredibly potent. My clothes, my hands, my kitchen, the basket I had the cut branches in, all smelled so strong. I can laugh about it now, as the drying process has the bundles smelling more pleasant.

Criss cross bundle ties using my grandmother's embroidery floss

Criss-cross bundle ties using my grandmother’s embroidery floss

I had heard of lavender and some other herbs helping with sleepless nights. I hadn’t heard of sage in that regard. The first harvesting of sage led to a deep sleeping night. I attributed that to the hard work of gardening, pruning, harvesting, weeding, etc. I was not surprised that as much as sage does, it also helps insomnia.

The bundles have come in handy in our fire pit, as sage wards off pesky mosquitoes. I will admit that I smudged our home because, hey, what could it hurt?

Lovely

Lovely

I can’t wait until next summer when we can harvest lavender, echinacea, and more sage. I can’t wait til the first flower blooms of spring start poking their pretty heads up. I planted about 100 bulbs around the landscaping in the fall. Imaging my surprise when not only did they come up, a couple hundred more came up, as they were there all along. Thankful. What a beautiful surprise.

My “sage advice”. Go outside. Enjoy nature’s gifts. Breathe in the beauty of herbs, flowers, fresh air. Take time to unplug and look up.

Sage is beautiful as it dries

Sage is beautiful as it dries

One thought on “Sage ADVICE

  1. Pingback: Herb Journal :: Sage - Little Bit of Thyme

Leave a Reply

