Comfort food for a holiday full house: WAFFLEBROWNS

Thank you, Pinterest! I may never have found this great tot idea without you! I’m naming this comfort food WAFFLEBROWNS!

Props to so many pinners for sharing! I have no idea who came up with this, as there are hundreds of pinners pinning it, as well as their variations of it. I do know, however, a great idea when I see one, and am glad to share it with you. If you would like to see variations, search waffle iron tater tots. I’m not sure my made up word of Wafflebrowns would bring much up in a search.

Gather up: Belgian waffle iron, cooking spray, tater tots. Yep, that’s it.

Tater Tots and A Waffle Iron. Here we go!

Tater Tots and A Waffle Iron. Here we go!

The instructions are really simple. Spray your Belgian waffle iron with cooking spray. Put frozen tater tots in a single layer onto waffle iron, enough to cover the surface. Do your best to shut the lid. My method… I keep gentle pressure on it until it clicks shut, then flip it.

Place tater tots on the iron in a single layer.

Place tater tots on the iron in a single layer.

They take 5-10 minutes to cook crisp depending on the heat of your waffle iron. I turn mine up and go full steam ahead. No pun intended. The first time I made these, I couldn’t resist checking on them. Several times. I added quite a few minutes to the cook time because I kept opening the lid. Oopsy!

My memories of making waffles goes back to the sweet days at my Nannie and Granddaddy’s. Every time we visited their western Kentucky home, we would make waffles. Chocolate chip waffles. Mmmmm. I can’t see a waffle iron or waffle recipe that I don’t think of that. I have no idea what my grandmother would think of tater tot waffles but I’m thinking she would be split between “tsk tsk” and “whatever the boys want”. She was a great influence on eating healthy, homemade food that was minimally processed. I’m hoping that my idea of a Wafflebrown bar would tip her into liking it!

Crisping up nicely!

Crisping up nicely!

Feeding a crew? A great idea would be to make a Wafflebrown bar. Prepare separate bowls of sautéed onions, pre-cooked chopped bacon, shredded cheese, melted cheese, diced tomatoes, sour cream, a spice mix of powdered onion/garlic/salt/pepper. Whatever you like! Can’t wait to do this with my guys over the holidays!

Ready for toppings. Or... just ketchup and some pepper.

Ready for toppings. Or… just ketchup and some pepper.

Happy Wafflebrowning! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

