Sculpey Clay, Artist Laura Kelly and My Sweetheart Life Tiny Ornament Linky Party

How sweet and how fun! A linky party with a group of artists and designers sculpting tiny ornaments out of Sculpey clay, and a handful of brightly colored buttons from Buttons Galore and More Laura Kelly Collection. Here we gooooo…

Sculpey Clay and buttons from the Laura Kelly Collection of Buttons Galore and More

Sculpey Clay and buttons from the Laura Kelly Collection of Buttons Galore and More

Ideas, ideas, ideas!!! So many darling ideas! Santas, snowmen, angels, candy canes… All lend themselves to a tiny ornament project. How will I ever choose one! It feels like the Night Before Christmas with visions of sugarplums dancing in my head.

I narrowed down my creative ornament daydreaming to focus on an ornament for my sweet new grandbaby, Luke. He is such a sweet baby and the apple of this Mimi’s eye already! I looked through my cookie cutter collection to find inspiration there. My jumbo cookie cutters were ruled out, as they are definitely not tiny. My linzer cookie cutters were out. They are tiny but not “baby’s first Christmas” cute. My vintage cookie cutters were in the running…. until wah-lah… there it was, my Wilton reindeer cookie cutter. It is just too cute, and meets the “tiny” measurement qualification perfectly. I can make a sweetie-face reindeer for Luke’s ornament.

I rolled out the brown clay and used the cookie cutter to create the shape. I saw that I had some divots in the clay on the back of the reindeer. I used Sculpey clay softener to smooth them out. Worked like a charm!

Fixing marks and fingerprints in the clay is easy with Sculpey clay softener

Fixing marks and fingerprints in the clay is easy with Sculpey clay softener

All fixed up!

All fixed up!

I used black clay for the antlers and sweet little face. I just had to have a cheery cherry red nose to make him Rudolph.

Ready for a cheery red nose!

Ready for a cheery red nose!

I rolled out a thin red rope of clay and a thin white rope of clay and twisted them together to make a candy cane rope. I shaped it into a cursive Luke across the antlers. I love how this turned out!

A twist of red and white clay for a candy cane "Luke"

A twist of red and white clay for a candy cane “Luke”

Almost finished! I inserted wire loops so that the ornament would be ready to embellish with buttons after baking. I followed Sculpey’s baking instructions, baking it for 15 minutes in a 275 oven.

I love it already and it isn’t even finished. So sweet. I added a metallic silver chenille stem with buttons to complete the hanger. This will be easy for Luke to hang on the tree for years to come.

Festive button hanger ready for little hands to hang it on the tree!

Festive button hanger ready for little hands to hang it on the tree!

Thank you for hopping by My Sweetheart Life on this fun and creative Tiny Ornament blog hop!

Merry Christmas 2013

Merry Christmas 2013

8 thoughts on “Sculpey Clay, Artist Laura Kelly and My Sweetheart Life Tiny Ornament Linky Party

Leave a Reply

