A glittery jingle bell vintage inspired contemporary ORNAMENT

Well, that was a mouthful of a title, huh?

I have had so much fun dreaming up and crafting these ornaments for the young ladies in my family. I gathered up a bit of this and a bit of that and I love the end result. Vintage-inspired-contemporary is how I would best describe the finished ornament.

I started with store-bought silver glitter ornaments (a bargain $6.95 for 16), a white feather boa, teal jingle bells, ivory card stock pre-cut tags, Mod Podge, vinyl letters, and chunky crystal glitter.

I typed out the words to one of my favorite Christmas songs, “Oh, Holy Night”, in a vintage cursive font, sizing it to fit the tag. I printed a whole page of tags, in rows, onto plain white paper and cut each out using a card stock tag for a template. One page was plenty, as I only needed 10 to start.

I adhered one vinyl letter to the middle of each “Oh, Holy Night” paper tag. I love the black letter the best. I used hot pink letters for my diehard pink girls. Cute for the ultragirly teen. I then adhered the paper tag to the ivory card stock tag, using a light coat of Mod Podge. I put another light coat of Mod Podge on top of the paper tag and shook glitter over it. I love it already but I simply must add feathers!

I added a fairly thick coat of Mod Podge to the back of the tag, cut a snippet of the feather boa, and adhered it. Love!

Vintage inspired tags

Vintage inspired tags

The tags are drying nicely! Plenty of time to do a Christmas chore (or seven), while I wait.

Time for the finishing touches. Punch a hole through the tag, untie the loop of the jingle bell, thread it through the ornament top, add the glittered and feathered tag. That’s it!

Oh look… There are plenty of supplies to make my Mom and myself one. Fantastic!

Love!

Love!

Leave a Reply

