Wonderful Winter SOUP

20131125-015901.jpg

This soup is so yummy! So very good! I was flipping through my “sticky note” bunch of recipes. You know the ones, the hurriedly scribbled recipes that you find while waiting at the doc’s office or in your Mom’s stack of magazines. One of these days I will type these out. Truly, I will.

I have no idea who to credit the recipe to. All I know is that I will happily give credit if it looks familiar to the brilliant chef who created the delicious mix of flavors. It is so very good, and even better if you have salty crackers or a chunk of artisan bread to dip into it.

Allow a good two hours prep before dinner. Well worth it!

Ok. Gather up:
2 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced (too much for me)
2 tbsp chopped onion (I used more)
4 links Italian sausage, sliced
8 cups chicken stock*
1 tsp dried oregano (I left out)
1 tbsp dried basil
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley **
2 cups uncooked white rice
1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions:
Heat oil in large pot over medium heat. Add garlic and onion. Sauté 2 or 3 minutes til tender. Add the sausage, browning for about 5 minutes. Add the chicken stock and herbs. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer an hour. Add the rice, simmer for 30 minutes. Add the cream, stir well, remove from heat, let soup rest for a few minutes. Serve with crackers or artisan bread.

Ok. Usually I would tell you ReLaX and to throw in whatever sausage you have , hurry the recipe by putting in cooked rice, etc. This recipe is different. Use good quality Italian sausage. The herbs in it are what make the soup. As always, I will suggest using homemade *chicken stock. It’s so easy and so good. Next best is store bought quality organic chicken stock. I skipped the **parsley altogether but I think next time I may use kale. I always use a bit less garlic and more onion, to suit my family’s taste preferences.

I am so glad I snapped a quick pic of my bowl of soup. I had no idea I would love this recipe so much. The saltiness of crackers is a perfect soup companion. Artisan bread will be great for dipping, too. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

