A Passionate Plea To Foster a Love of READING

20131017-211020.jpg

I came across an article that was an impassioned plea for fostering the love of reading and creative writing and libraries and daydreaming. I agree!

I read this opening statement and was compelled to read the rest of the article:

“I’m going to make an impassioned plea for people to understand what libraries and librarians are, and to preserve both of these things.”~Neil Gaiman

There is no way to explain or impart how big or deep my love of reading is. I don’t remember a time when I didn’t have a book or three to read. I love words. I love the sound of them, spoken thru characters. I love the tempo and the cadence and tone of the words. I love that every story and book is so very different, according to the author’s vision and assembly.

I love the sight of words on a page, to see how many pages are left in a chapter, or the relief of an epilogue so that we learn a bit more.

I love the surprise of a flourish of a word, that I will undoubtedly use before the week is up. I love a string of words used that is perfect in making the story come to life in my imagination.

I admire Gaiman’s authenticity: “So I’m biased as a writer. But I am much, much more biased as a reader.” I understand that sentiment, deeply. So many books… so little time. A quote from a popular commercial comes to mind: more, more, we love it so much, we want more!

I learn something every time I read a book, either through the words or the story. Fiction is imaginary, but truth of sentiments, life lessons, words are not.

I agree with Gaiman concerning reading to children: “We have an obligation to read aloud to our children. To read them things they enjoy. To read to them stories we are already tired of. To do the voices, to make it interesting, and not to stop reading to them just because they learn to read to themselves. Use reading-aloud time as bonding time, as time when no phones are being checked, when the distractions of the world are put aside.”

I’m sharing the article. It’s no surprise I learned something new. I learned the word “tosh” and was reminded of the word “hackneyed”. I learned about Japan’s innovative change in banned books. I learned what Albert Einstein had to say about reading to children. I learned that there are many of us who love paper books and libraries. I met a new friend in Neil Gaiman. I can’t wait to look him up at my local library.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/oct/15/neil-gaiman-future-libraries-reading-daydreaming

Leave a Reply

