A Friendly Frankenstein Halloween Design Project HOP

A Halloween Hop! Fun, right? Yep!

What is a HOP, you ask? A hop, in this case, is a group of artists and designers using the same basic set of craft supplies to create a project. In some hops, you are to use only what is provided. In this hop, we had carte blanche to add to the supplies provided to create a POPCORN BOX using whatever additional supplies we wished. When the blog posts “go live” on the hop date, it is such a show of talent and creativity, as all projects turn out differently, even using the same starting point. Fun, right? And TODAY is the DAY!

Project Supplies and a Cute Invitation

Project Supplies and a Cute Invitation

It’s always exciting to get a package in the mail! This was no exception!

I knew the project objective immediately. I would use the box for Landon and Andi. They have a brand new baby, born in early September. I am going to use the decorated popcorn box to give to them as a “date coupon”. They can go on a date to the movies, and we can babysit and love on their sweet little boy. Perfect trade!

The choices for this project were plentiful. I decided to make a Friendly Frankenstein! I used mini-dot lime green scrapbook paper, buttons from the Laura Kelly collection, a glitter craft pipe cleaner, Mod Podge, Anita’s black craft paint, and a striped paper straw.

I started the project by cutting the fun polka dot scrapbook paper into four pieces, using the popcorn box as a template.

I used the popcorn box as a template.

I used the popcorn box as a template.

Looks like a perfect fit! Ready for the next step… I used Mod Podge to adhere the paper pieces to the box. A quick and light coat of Mod Podge was all that was needed.

Perfect Fit! Ready for Mod Podge

Perfect Fit! Ready for Mod Podge

Friendly Frankie is ready to come to life! I used the black paint to create a scalloped hairline. We are going for cute, not scary!

I made button bolts for Frankie's neck while waiting for the black paint to dry.

I made button bolts for Frankie’s neck while waiting for the black paint to dry.

I used a green glitter craft pipe cleaner and buttons to make the bolts for his neck. I cut the pipe cleaner in half, threaded it up thru one button hole, and then back down the adjacent button hole. The buttons Laura sent were too cute to just use one, so I used three: purple, yellow and orange. Same steps for the second bolt. I left enough pipe cleaner in between the button holes to make the bolt really stand out, and shaped it into a square.  I clipped the ends to leave only about an inch. I used an Exacto knife to cut a hole in each side of the popcorn box, inserted a bolt, and splayed the ends inside the box to secure.

Now for the eyes and mouth. It was hard to decide on how Frankie’s face would look. I decided to cut out big googly imperfect circles for the eyes, and add a black button accent. I glued them off-center for a funny expression. I painted a scar for a traditional Frankenstein look, but added a crooked silly mouth just for fun.

What a silly grin!

What a silly grin!

While the paint and the eyes were drying, I made a darling sign to add to the box using Laura Kelly’s signature Halloween friends. I layered this with more of the green polka dot paper and attached it to a fun striped paper straw.

Paper straw sign

Paper straw sign

The last step was to add goodies to the popcorn box. I want it to be a fun and inviting “movie date coupon”. I wrapped a popcorn bag in colorful fabric, filled the box with candy goodies, and tucked in the paper straw sign. Here is the finished project…

Friendly Frankenstein Movie Date Popcorn Box

Friendly Frankenstein Movie Date Popcorn Box

Here is a link to the Halloween Popcorn Box Blog Hop http://www.laurakellydesigns.com/laurakellydesignsblog/index.php/halloween-popcorn-box-blog-hop/

Here is a link to a $100 giveaway! Exciting! Enter to win! http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/04fe1a17/%22

$100 Prize!

$100 Disney Gift Card Prize!

11 thoughts on “A Friendly Frankenstein Halloween Design Project HOP

  1. Pingback: Craft Ideas: Making Magnetic Bugs | Craft Ideas

Leave a Reply

