Halloween classic MOVIES

Ok. So just play along. I’m doing a tech check to see if I have figured out the bug that was not letting my blog share to Facebook. Too many new tricks for this old dog…. but here we go.

We are a “movie” family. We all enjoy snuggling in with snacks and drinks and getting totally sucked in to a good movie, scary or not.

Here are some favorites when I think of movies for an “after Trick or Treat” family movie night. Our family ranges from a newborn to a 90+ year old, literally, so we try to pick classics when we are all together.

The Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz. Timeless… I still get excited every time I see that it’s on.

Labyrinth

Labyrinth

Labyrinth. Love David Bowie and love the music in the movie.

The Great Pumpkin

The Great Pumpkin

The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown. Poor old Charlie. Tugs at my heartstrings every year.

the_nightmare_before_christmas

Nightmare Before Christmas

The Nightmare Before Christmas. I am absolutely craving to see this movie. It has been a long time since I have seen it but I have a feeling I will still know quite a few of the words. Landon and Ben and I must have watched this 100 times together. And we still say “Slip me some skin… bonnnne daddy”. Classic.

Beetlejuice Beetlejuice Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice Beetlejuice Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice! Gaaaaa…. I typed it three times!

SCARY-GODMOTHER

Scary Godmother

Hannah suggested Scary Godmother. I haven’t seen it but she loves it so that’s good enough for me. The little girl character is also named Hannah, so I am going to try to find it and add it to our collection.

Monster House

Monster House

Hayley suggested Monster House. Also a classic, and we have that one so we will have to find a day to watch it for “old times sake”. I love holiday traditions!

Hocus Pocus

Hocus Pocus. I bet they had a blast filming this one! I have always been a Bette Midler fan, hilarious and talented on-screen and off.

Legend of Sleepy Hollow

Legend of Sleepy Hollow

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Scary! Poor old Ichabod! As sweet at Disney can be, they sure do know how to do scary! Every villain is so well done, that adults and children are on the edge of their movie seat.

Practical Magic

Practical Magic

Ahhhhh…. Practical Magic. One of my all-time favorites. I love the house, I love the love story, I love the complicated sister relationship, I love the love story… oh wait, I said that already. But I so do. And I’m having an absolute girly moment just thinking about it so I called my husband over for a kiss. The detective in Practical Magic reminds me of my husband. I loved the Detective first, as I saw the movie first, and fell in love with my husband when I went on a “practice date” with him. It was supposed to be a practice date with a “good guy” to satisfy my friends that I would eventually date. The date is still going on, as we have been together ever since. Truly, deeply, magically in love. Ok, time to snap out of it.

This only scratches the surface of great movies for October! What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

