Ready for a crop of Candy CORN

Yellow and Tangerine Rit Dye

Yellow and Tangerine Rit Dye

 

Here we go! Ready for a crop of CANDY CORN!

Heat your dye water to at least 140 for best results

Heat your dye water to at least 140 for best results

 

I bought a garden basket at the local Tractor Supply store. What a great find at only $3. I can think of so many ways to use it!

Before...

Before…

 

I added a dollop of yellow dye to hot water, flipped the basket over and sponged the dye solution right onto the top half of the basket. I let it drip back into the bowl.

 

Let it drip right back into the bowl.

Let it drip back into the bowl to conserve dye.

 

I think I'll dye the inside rim, too.

I think I’ll dye the inside rim, too.

 

 

I decided to dye the inside rim of the basket yellow as well. After the top part dried, I flipped the basket right-side-up and got a new bowl of hot water, added Tangerine dye and started on the bottom of the basket. What a quick and easy way to create some autumn fun!

 

Sponge dyeing the bottom of the basket

Sponge dyeing the bottom of the basket

 

LOVE this Tangerine color!

LOVE this Tangerine color!

 

I set the basket aside to dry, waited on yet another Kentucky summer storm to pass… and then finished the basket by painting the middle rim with a quick coat of Anita’s white craft paint. Can’t wait to fill the basket with autumn gourds and pumpkins!

 

Finished product! A candy corn basket ready for gourds and pumpkins!

Finished product! A candy corn basket ready for gourds and pumpkins!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ready for a crop of Candy CORN

  1. Pingback: A Pumpkin A DAY (7) | My Sweetheart Life

Leave a Reply

