Every day is a good day for a little ombre FUN

I saw a crisp white paisley-textured infinity scarf and just had to have it. A) I love the paisley tone on tone texture and B) to dye with RIT Dye, of course!

Love the tone-on-tone paisley pattern!

Love the tone-on-tone paisley pattern!

I was torn between colors but narrowed it down to three: yellow, violet and blue. All would lend themselves perfectly to a dye technique called ombre.

The definition of ombre is basically a gradual change in color from light to dark. Hipsters are using this technique to color everything from their hair to maxi dresses to the very popular ombre dyed ruffled shower curtains. Well, folks, it is DIY ombre dye time here at My Sweetheart Life.

Per RIT instructions, I washed the infinity scarf before dyeing. Just a quick cold water wash with regular detergent, and dried it.

I chose VIOLET!

I chose VIOLET!

I chose the color violet, as I had tallied the votes from my facebook page (www.facebook.com/mysweetheartlife). Most said violet, and I was glad because I was leaning towards that color, as I thought of how the light into dark would be so pretty, considering how the infinity scarf is worn.

I heated the water in my canner (what would I do without that big old thing), fretted a little, clipped the scarf on a hanger and then in it went.

Ready for dyeing!

Ready for dyeing!

I have to say, it is not the dyeing that was making me fret. It was snapping pictures while dodging steaming dye water. I’m thinking about investing in a tripod. Pronto.

To ombre dip and get the graduated color, I dipped the entire scarf in for a couple of minutes and then raised the top of the scarf out of the dye, waited a few more minutes, then hung the scarf for about 10 minutes to get the middle nice and violet.

It was hang it or hold it. I chose to hang it!

It was hang it or hold it. I chose to hang it!

Cookie Cutters! There are cookie cutters in that open cabinet, that's what!

Cookie Cutters! There are cookie cutters in that open cabinet, that’s what!

I lifted it and left the bottom of the scarf in that beautifully violet inky water for at least another 10 minutes. This part is up to you, depending on how light to dark you would like the end result to be. I think if I ombre dip something in blue I would leave it in longer for a light to deep deep blue.

Last dyeing step. Leave the bottom of the scarf in the dye solution the longest for the darkest color.

Last dyeing step. Leave the bottom of the scarf in the dye solution the longest for the darkest color.

You can fold the item over the pan rim when it has dripped dried a bit. You don't want to be cleaning up dye droplets.

You can fold the item over the pan rim when it has dripped dried a bit. You don’t want to be cleaning up dye droplets.

And here it is! Light violet to plum! I love it!

And here it is! Light violet to plum! I love it!

I love the way the violet is pink to light plum. I’ll try to get a pic the first time I wear it. I’m usually behind the camera. This Kentucky summer is still too steamy! C’mon fall!

It turned out exactly the way I wanted it to!

It turned out exactly the way I wanted it to!

4 thoughts on “Every day is a good day for a little ombre FUN

  1. Pingback: Closet Culling Part 1: Ombre your summer dresses! | Clean Yo' Room!

Leave a Reply

