Adjusting your SAILS

Whew! What a week! Ever have one of those weeks that throws your schedule every which way? This has been that kind of week. It has been a great opportunity to remember that I cannot adjust the wind, I can only adjust my sails.

Are you a planner? Or a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants type?

If you are like me, and have a creative brain, you may be a bit of both. It serves me well now, but I had to learn to master the art of balance.

I have found that a nonflexible schedule does not leave room for schedule curveballs, or for spontaneous fun. I have also found that having no schedule leads to a bit of chaos. The trick is balance, and flexibility.

I think the main thing that serves me well is that I operate with a core structure. My priorities and values and commitments rest on a firm foundation, no matter what the day may bring.

My schedule is pretty tight. I have a basic schedule for the week, and then add in events and appointments, then add in “last minutes” wherever I can. When a friend calls and asks for a favor, or to meet for lunch, I want to know what day and time I have available so that I am present and fully engaged. I want to honor that friend with my time. When a work opportunity comes knocking, I want to know where and how to fit it in, to honor that work partner and their time.

This week has been a regular week structurally. My volunteer and work commitments have been met, the house and laundry have been cleaned and my family has been fed. However, the winds of a three day migraine, son #2 needing xrays, an “I ran out of gas” adventure, a bounty of sweet corn and my husband’s extra hours at work and volunteering have been blowing. The unpredictable Kentucky summer weather winds have also been blowing, literally and figuratively, preventing several projects from being started, much less completed.

Instead of railing against the wind, or falling into despair, I choose to adjust my sails. I choose to use the Serenity Prayer as my mantra, as well.

I am nothing if not resilient. I don’t see anything of use in trying to stand against the winds of schedule changes. I see everything good in adjusting my sails, and using that wind to work for me, not me against it. I choose to look at the opportunity of creating a new plan, as opposed to being bested by it.

You cannot adjust the wind, you can only adjust your sails.

Leave a Reply

