This is the way we wash our CLOTHES

Me and My Peeps Blog Hop

Me and My Peeps Blog Hop

I love my friends. All of them. For so many different reasons. Each friend has a talent or an affinity for something I admire greatly. A long time friend, Laura Kelly-Walters, is a talented artist, with many accomplishments. She followed her heart and her passion for drawing, and created the darling and popular line, Me and My Peeps. Her love of creating happy character people began with Sharpies, and continues today.

I am excited to join Laura and a talented, successful group of artists, designers and crafters for a Me and My Peeps blog hop. Here is how our hop began… Laura sent each one of us a package of really cute materials to work with. Each project has turned out differently according to the artist’s vision, each one as cute as the next.

Darling supplies came in the mail! Thanks, Laura!

Darling supplies came in the mail! Thanks, Laura!

My project idea came to me as soon as I opened Laura’s package. I have been wondering what to do with the plain white 5 gallon bucket that holds my homemade laundry detergent. I will admit that the bucket frequently sits in my kitchen, on the floor by the sink, as it is heavy and I am a little lazy of putting it back in the garage.

I went a step further with my project and made a binder and binder pouch for the recipes I am collecting for soapy kitchen concoctions. I used a Peep for me, some vinyl lettering and a couple of the brightly colored polka dot ribbons Laura sent. The binder will lend itself perfectly to my soap experiment days, as the plastic page protectors protect the recipes from my soapy hands.

I used the buttons (from the Laura Kelly collection of Buttons Galore) to decorate the binder pouch. I am forever scribbling notes or new recipes, and this pouch can hold them for me until the next rainy day when I will have time to type them up.

Colorful buttons to decorate the binder pouch!

Colorful buttons to decorate the binder pouch!

Ready to Decorate the Recipe Binder

Ready to Decorate the Recipe Binder

My Cricut came in Handy for the Lettering

My Cricut came in Handy for the Lettering

I had a great time decorating the bucket with a Peep for me and my husband (who helps with the laundry) and the names of all the sweet kids and pups we share between us. The scalloped name frames turned out exactly as cute as I imagined.

The other side of the bucket sings “This is the way we wash our clothes”.  I can’t help but sing it, too. What would we do without our vinyl cutters? I used my Cricut for this project and love the serif font.

This is the Way We Wash Our Clothes

This is the Way We Wash Our Clothes

I'm a PEEP!

I’m a PEEP!

The last step was to use the rest of the darling polka dot ribbon on the bucket handle. I love how it pulled all of the colors of the binder, binder pouch and bucket together.

My white laundry bucket is now a darling decorated one that I don’t mind sitting in my kitchen!

Thanks to all for including me in the fun! It has been a creative adventure! Love y’all… Every day!

Big shout out to our Me and My Peeps Blog Hop Sponsors:

http://www.laurakellydesigns.com

www.365daysofcrafts.com

www.buttonsgaloreandmore.com

www.plaidonline.com

www.acmoore.com

http://cre8time.org

2 thoughts on “This is the way we wash our CLOTHES

Leave a Reply

