Rainy Days and Mondays

Playing with the settings on my camera, and enjoying my outdoor flowers indoors.

Playing with the settings on my camera, and enjoying my outdoor flowers indoors.

Rainy days and Mondays NEVER get me down! I’m not Pollyanna… I promise. I just have a lot to do or a lot that I want to do… always. Today is another rainy Kentucky day, the third or fourth in a row maybe? I have truly lost count. I am praying for my friends who are in flash flood areas, and have volunteered to help if needed. That being said, to all of my other friends who are hating the rain, I say “Do Whaaat?” I heard Ewan McGregor once say, concerning the weather in his native Scotland, “There is no bad weather, only unfortunate choices of clothing”. Now there is a man after my own heart. There are so many fun things to do on a rainy day. If you are a homebody, you could snuggle up and look at old pictures, watch home movies, read a book, make a blanket fort with your kids, bake a cake, yes a cake, from scratch! You could clean your overstuffed closet, or call a friend you have been wanting to talk to. If you are ready to get out of the house, you could go to a local museum, meet a friend for coffee, go see a summer movie or (if it isn’t lightening) play kickball in the cul de sac or take a jog. Why not? It’s only rain. I have some really sweet friends, truly I do, but not one of them would actually melt in the rain. What am I doing on these rainy days? I have been playing with some settings on my camera,  rescuing pictures from my absolutely full memory card, printing long overdue recipes for friends and, to be honest, resting!  In the breaks between the rains I have slayed the weeds in our landscaping like a champ, cut flowers from the landscaping to enjoy indoors, and perused the garage. The garage will take an entire rainy day or two or thirty-five to tackle! The weeds were so easy to pull after the rain and it looks like I worked a lot harder than I did. The Kentucky sun will shine again! We will miss these cooler temperatures that have been a welcome relief to the typical hot days of July. Have a great rainy weekend, my friends! Love y’all…every day!

Leave a Reply

